Hallo, Ween.

img_0991Oh hi!  I love your costume.  That wig looks so real!  And, your makeup is also spot on 1981.  Is that like a Kiss reference?  Funny. Nice.  I like your ironic Billy Ray Cyrus t-shirt.  That’s a good joke.

Oh.  You’re not in costume.  Ah, yes.  I see that now.  That is just your style.  That is you just being cool.  Totally makes sense now.

And, I am in a very hot penguin costume.  And so I take it this is not a costumed theme blind date?  Hmm.  I think I got Ron’s directions a bit wrong.  Well, I guess I’ll just sit down with you here in this really charming and quaint Pizzeria Uno’s and order a raspberry iced tea.

So, my French is coming along famously.  Yes.  Except for the small problem of not memorizing any of the past participles.  I don’t even entirely know how to speak in the past.  I think I could say “Oui, j’ai mange tout le pizza.  Oui.  C’etait pour tout le monde, mais j’ai tres faim.”  But, that’s pretty much the limit because I don’t know how to conjugate besides first group (-er?) verbs.  I do know how to say things in the near future: like “Allors, je vais boire tout de toi vin, mais je vais boire cette tres doucement allors tu ne sais pas.”

However, I think my French teacher and I really understand each other.  You know, last class, I was the only student to attend so we sat there chatting in French about Costa Rican forests and then in English about love and work and New York City and all these things.  I left class inspired and went to a little pub to eat hot soup and write.  It was rather lovely.  I like when Vincent tells me in English that he is going to drink his soup.  That’s what they say in French: drink soup.  How absurdly bizarre and wonderful their verb to action correlation.

Well, my flippers just got stained by pizza grease and I’m feeling a bit sick from these loaded potato skins, so I think I might just skip home early tonight, if you don’t mind.

Oh and happy Halloween.  Tonight you can be anyone.

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=tf_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=lepoissonnage-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B016AEKYDM&asins=B016AEKYDM&linkId=8ed5a2f73a9122a234d59f12f5759d43&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=false&price_color=333333&title_color=0066c0&bg_color=ffffff

5 Replies to “Hallo, Ween.”

  1. A number of French expressions have crept into Quebec French, adding bilingual charm (or craziness) to the place. For instance, you will often hear someone asking to “close the light.”

Leave a Reply

